top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJulia Hernandez

Entry 7



I think the two most important things to think about when evaluating a source is authorship and purpose/objectivity. I think that authorship is so important because it gives you insight as to whether the person that is talking has any authority to be talking about that subject. For example, I am not going to trust any opinions on mask wearing and their effect on Covid-19 if they are not a scientist or a doctor that specializes in epidemiology. Everyone has an opinion, but I want to trust the opinion of someone that has spent a long time understanding and researching the topic.

Purpose/Objectivity is so important when looking at a source again because everyone has an opinion. Many of the things that you see on the internet are there because people want to share them and feel passionately about them. They have an agenda that you need to watch out for when you are looking for information that is credible.

14 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3件のコメント


Lehua Foma'i
Lehua Foma'i
2021年10月21日

I like these two criteria!! I chose others, but this totally makes sense as well. I also think that authorship is important because someone's authority truly tells their credibility and say in things.

いいね!

Marissa Browne
Marissa Browne
2021年10月20日

I completely agree! Author and purpose are what I chose to write about also! I love that you talked about how we can know if the author has authority this is super important in knowing if a site is credible or not! I also agree that some people have agendas, so it’s important to know their purpose!

いいね!

Madeline Merrill
Madeline Merrill
2021年10月19日

Great blog post! I used those same traits for evaluating a source. I really like how you used the example of COVID-19, especially because SO many people have different opinions on the virus. It is important to make sure that we get our news sources from actual doctors. I agree with you about how everyone has an opinion, and many people post those opinions on social media. It is super crucial to make sure that the information you read is credible. Awesome job.

いいね!
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page