top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJulia Hernandez

Entry 10



Assistive and Adaptive technologies are things that level the playing field for everyone so that everyone can interact with the world in the way that they want to. One example is that they allow those that are blind to read, appreciate art, or walk around. They have a large impact on people with a multitude of different disabilities. I haven't use any of them but I know that my brother has with his struggles with writing. I think adaptive technologies will take some getting used to but will be so valuable in the long run. Technology will allow me to allow my students to move at their own pace and to receive the extra help that they truly need. It will help me assist not only those with disabilities but others in the classroom as well.

From Pear Deck I've learned about different things that can help my students to be more interactive during my lessons, especially as learning is moving to be more online. I love how interesting the assessments are and the cute graphics that make it interesting to participate in them. However, I wish that there was a way to make it so that students would be able to see the correct answer after they answer a question. It is a great tool to help get my students more involved but I think that I would want to personalize it for my students, especially because I want to teach more music. I also want to make sure that this is helpful for kids of a variety of ages due to the wide variety of students that I likely will be having.

13 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Tenille Nagareda
Tenille Nagareda
Nov 12, 2021

I also need to familiarize myself more with assistive technology. I know that it can be a huge benefit for those who struggle not only in speaking, but in writing, reading, and listening. This is something I am definitely going to look into as a teacher in the future so that I am able to adapt my classroom to meet all my students' needs. I like that you mentioned how Pear Deck should have an option to show the correct answer because I would want my students to realize their mistakes, and do better. When they do this, we are also modifying the class to meet their needs.

Like

Henna Hai-Wei Qiu
Henna Hai-Wei Qiu
Nov 10, 2021

I totally agree with what you said that technology will allow me to allow my students to move at their own pace and to receive the extra help that they truly need. I think technology provides students with easy-to-access information, accelerated learning, and fun opportunities to practice what they learn. It enables students to explore new subjects and deepen their understanding of difficult concepts.

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page