top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJulia Hernandez

Entry 6


Image from Harris Xiong

The idea of copyright and ensuring that you are utilizing things created by others in the proper way is so important in this age of lawsuits and misunderstanding. I have come to realize that the idea of Copyright is a much bigger deal than I had previously anticipated. I think that I want to ensure that in my classroom in the future that my students understand what this is and why it is important. It's a fairly simple concept to understand and I think it will help them in the future as they go on throughout their lives. When someone creates something, they have a right to that thing that they created. It's a simple principle that allows for people to get the credit and compensation that they deserve. I need to change this for myself as well and ensure that I understand this properly at the same time.

The plagiarism assignment helped me to understand what plagiarism actually is and how it can happen intentionally and unintentionally. I learned that I need to be careful with how I use other's works and make sure that when I'm using other's ideas that I cite it correctly and carefully. It also impressed me just how harsh the schools policy is for those that plagiarize intentionally. I feel like cheating is such a widespread problem and I appreciate how they are trying to lessen this because it has a direct impact on me. As others cheat, the grades that I get are automatically reduced in value because those that cheat are getting those same grades without the same effort being put in.

14 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3 Comments


Marissa Browne
Marissa Browne
Oct 14, 2021

This image is so helpful in viewing ways to avoid plagarism. I agree that the assignment was so helpful in allowing me to know what it actually meant and that at times plagiarism happens unintentionally.

Like

Alfred Ron Kapeli
Alfred Ron Kapeli
Oct 13, 2021

I love how creative you are with this assignment. I agree with what you said, "I have come to realize that the idea of Copyright is a much bigger deal than I had previously anticipated. I think that I want to ensure that in my classroom in the future that my students understand what this is and why it is important." Copyright is something that teachers should enforce and let their students know how serious it is and why they need to know about it. I didn't really learn anything about copyright and plagiarism until I was in High school. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us!

Like

Madeline Merrill
Madeline Merrill
Oct 13, 2021

I really like how you put an image on your blog that explains what plagiarism is, it really adds to your blog. I like how you talked about how everyone has the right to owning their own work in order to have the compensation credit they deserve. I had never thought of it that way and it makes plagiarism seem much more important to talk about. Of course everyone wants the credit to their own work, so it is important to teach children how vital it is to understand. Great job!

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page