top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJulia Hernandez

Entry 2


I think that teachers and students use technology in the classroom because it is such a good tool to use. We use technology all the time in our interactions outside of school and know that they are valuable. Knowing this inspires teachers and students to utilize it inside the classroom as well, a very valuable tactic that allows for greater learning and understanding.

I agree that the term "digital native" is applicable for those in my generation. We were raised around technology, learning how to manage a computer when we were young. We have a sense of what needs to happen with technology even if we haven't received any formal training on it. It's easier for us to pick things up because we understand the basics of technology and can apply them in any situation. I've noticed that there is a large difference in the abilities between me and my teachers because it takes them longer to do things that I would consider to be fairly simple and easy tasks. However, I have seen that many teachers work very hard to understand and utilize technology, when they have put in the time and energy to understand it they are able to utilize it in ways that I might not have imagined. I feel like I've been able to understand that my teachers are people like me as they work with technology because it may not be their strength.

I think that in the future that I'll be very much like my teachers now and in the past. Technology is developing so quickly and I know that unless I work hard to keep up that I will be in the same position. Technology isn't a skill that you pick up and it stays the same forever, it is constantly evolving and my knowledge has to do the same thing.

18 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 comentários


Henna Hai-Wei Qiu
Henna Hai-Wei Qiu
16 de set. de 2021

As part of the digital native, we were raised around technology, learning how to manage a computer when we were young. I think this valuable experience could help us - as future teachers and educators- teach the students that use technology effectively and correctly and avoid the misuse of the internet. Also, I agree with how to mention that utilizing technology that could magnify the power of learning by making many different creative ways of learning in the classroom.

Curtir

Marissa Browne
Marissa Browne
14 de set. de 2021

I agree that technology is a helpful tool inside and outside of the classroom, and I agree that our generation does have an innate sense of what to do on a computer and other technologies which means that we could be considered digital natives. Like you said although some of our teachers are not digital natives, many of them work hard to pick up on technology skills to utilize in their classrooms, and that these skills are something that can be picked up and not simply things we must be born with.

Curtir
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page